for Greek scroll down

After Death Identity is a composition combining text, movement, lights and dramaturgy. It is composed by Christos Drouzas for solo contrabass. The main aim is to create a new work which leads to a theatrical approach to musical performance. 

Photo excerpt from Leander Behal’s documentary
Camera: River Casas

After Death Identity is one of the compositions in a new performance curated by George Kokkinaris which includes works for solo contrabass by Greek composers of the 1970s (Stephanos Vasilieiadis, Anestis Logothetis) as well as contemporary composers. The main theme is Death. The idea arose from the music piece “Into Fire” composed by Stephanos Vasileiadis, a testimonial to the tragic death of the composer Jani Christou. The performance aims to showcase older composers who are part of the avant garde scene of Greece as well as contemporary composers who create new music. 

The work was born as a result of the relation that developed between composer and performer. They shared their beliefs, experiences, questions and challenges in order to co-create an artistic proposition. The starting point of this work is Constantine P. Cavafys’ poem “Myris – Alexandria, 340 AD”, a text which George Kokkinaris has studied over many years and which he has incorporated into his musical compositions and performances. 

Photo excerpt from Leander Behal’s documentary
Camera: River Casas

Christos Drouzas’ music composition was completed over a period of three months. The composer respected the vision and the artistic view of the performer, as well as the unique approach towards the sound of the double bass. The limited repertoire of the contrabass has now acquired a new piece which introduces the performer to unknown difficulties beyond those of musical performance. The score has explicit instructions (in traditional music notation) and parts which call for a subjective interpretation and decision-making by the performer. During the performance the music exists alongside the body of the artist which remains active through movement, a momentary choreography and the recitation of excerpts from the poem.

All these new challenges create an inner dialogue-monologue of the performer which the audience is encouraged not only to listen to or watch but also to embrace and perhaps to interpret. The ritual-performance asks the viewer to answer to himself “who he really is”.

The relationship between the composer and the performer as well as the philosophical approach towards death inspired the emerging German director Leander Behal to make a documentary film about the preparation and production of this piece. The rehearsals up until the premiere are documented in parallel with the lives and personalities of the two musicians who, having recently immigrated to Germany, seek in creativity the answers to their everyday challenges.

Christos Drouzas – Biography

Christos Drouzas has studied Orchestra Conducting (Ecole Normale de Musique de Paris), Mechanical Engineering (N.T.U.A.), composition and electric bass (P. Nakas Conservatory) and he is now conducting a doctoral research in psychoacoustics (Audio communications group – TU Berlin). He has participated in 18 theatre and music theatre performances, operas and musicals as conductor, composer, arranger, performer and director’s assistant.

———- Greek Translation

Το έργο “μετά Θάνατον Ταυτότητα” αποτελεί μία σύνθεση η οποία συνδυάζει μουσική, κείμενο, κίνηση, φώτα και δραματουργία. Γράφτηκε από τον Χρήστο Δρούζα για σόλο κοντραμπάσο. Σκοπός: η δημιουργία ενός νέου έργου που προσεγγίζει τη μουσική performance από θεατρικά μονοπάτια.

Το “μετά Θάνατον Ταυτότητα” είναι μία από τις συνθέσεις της νέας παράστασης που επιμελείται ο Γιώργος Κοκκινάρης, η οποία περιλαμβάνει έργα για σόλο κοντραμπάσο Ελλήνων συνθετών της δεκαετίας του 70 (Στέφανος Βασιλειάδης, Ανέστης Λογοθέτης) καθώς και νέων συνθετών. Κεντρικό θέμα είναι ο Θάνατος. Αφορμή στάθηκε το κομμάτι του Στέφανου Βασιλειάδη “Εν Πυρί”, μνεία στον τραγικό θάνατο του συνθέτη Γιάννη Χρήστου. Η παράσταση αποσκοπεί να αναδείξει παλαιότερους συνθέτες της avante garde σκηνής στην Ελλάδα καθώς και νέους που δημιουργούν “νέα μουσική”.

Το έργο είναι γέννημα της σχέσης που αναπτύχθηκε μεταξύ συνθέτη και ερμηνευτή. Συνθέτης και ερμηνευτής μοιράζονται απόψεις, εμπειρίες, ερωτήματα και προκλήσεις ώστε και να συνδιαμορφώσουν μία αισθητική πρόταση. Αφετηρία του έργου αποτελεί το ποίημα του Κωνσταντίνου Καβάφη “Μύρης – Αλεξάνδρεια 340 μ.X.”, κείμενο το οποίο ο Γιώργος Κοκκινάρης μελετά επί σειρά ετών ενσωματώνοντάς το στις μουσικές συνθέσεις και στις παραστάσεις του.

Η μουσική σύνθεση του Χρήστου Δρούζα, γράφτηκε σε διάστημα τριών μηνών. Ο συνθέτης προσέγγισε το όραμα και την αισθητική του ερμηνευτή, το ιδίωμα και την αισθητική για τον ήχο του βαθύχορδου. Το κοντραμπάσο, έχοντας περιορισμένο ρεπερτόριο, αποκτά ένα νέο κομμάτι που εισάγει τον ερμηνευτή σε νέες δυσκολίες πέρα από αυτές της μουσικής ερμηνείας. Η παρτιτούρα περιέχει σαφείς μουσικές οδηγίες (παραδοσιακό σύστημα σημειογραφίας) αλλά και σημεία που χρήζουν υποκειμενική ερμηνεία και λήψη αποφάσεων από τον εκτελεστή. Καθ’ όλη την διάρκεια η μουσική συνυπάρχει με ενεργό το σώμα του ερμηνευτή, την κίνηση, την σύντομη στιγμιαία χορογραφία καθώς με την απαγγελία αποσπασμάτων του ποιήματος. Όλες αυτές οι νέες προκλήσεις δημιουργούν έναν εσωτερικό διάλογο – μονόλογο του ερμηνευτή στον οποίο το κοινό καλείται όχι απλά να “ακούσει” ή να “δει” αλλά να τον ασπαστεί και ίσως να τον ερμηνεύσει. Η περφόρμανς – τελετουργία καλεί τον θεατή να απαντήσει στον εαυτό του “ποιος πραγματικά είναι”.

Η σχέση συνθέτη και ερμηνευτή καθώς και η φιλοσοφική θεώρηση για τον θάνατο, εμπνέει τον νέο Γερμανό σκηνοθέτη Leander Behal, οποίος αποφασίζει να γυρίσει σε ντοκιμαντέρ την παραγωγή και προετοιμασία του έργου. Καταγράφονται οι πρόβες μέχρι και την πρώτη παρουσίαση του έργου. Αποτυπώνεται η ζωή και οι προσωπικότητες των δύο μουσικών, νέων μεταναστών στην Γερμανία που αναζητούν στην δημιουργία τις απαντήσεις στις καθημερινές τους προκλήσεις.

All photos are photo excerpts from Leander Behal’s documentary. Camera shots by River Casas.